First Giant Round Robin Tournament Featured Great Competion

Asheville Table Tennis Tournament

ATTC hosted a nationally sanctioned table tennis tournament on November 8, 2014.  Twenty-three players from North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama and Tennessee competed in five divisions.  The top two divisions were very evenly balanced which resulted in many long and hard-fought matches.   The level of play was excellent particularly in the championship final.

Ty Petty faced Michael Martin, both members of ATTC, in an exciting finale to a great day of competition.  Martin got off to a quick start winning the first two sets.  Deep into the third game, Martin was ahead of the tournament seasoned Petty and looked as though he would close out the match in straight sets.


In an amazing comeback, Petty rose to the occasion and edged out Martin in the third game.  From then on,  Petty never lost the lead in spite of Martin’s valiant effort and great defense winning the championship final three and two.

The tournament was made possible in part by generous sponsorship from the Tunnel Road Dairy Queen.  The local club members also pitched in and assisted with the set up of the facility and other essential activities.  Our club president, Jeremy Rabuck is to be commended for his tireless effort in bringing this event to life.  The players enjoyed excellent pizza donated by the Goldstein family and drinks provided by the Rabuck family.

ATTC hopes to be able to offer more regional events in the upcoming year.  Details will be posted on the website.


Group A - 1-2 Group A – 1st Place – Ty Petty, 2nd Place – Michael Martin

Group A - 3 -4

Group A – 5th Place – Jeremy Rabuck, 3nd Place – Michael Hanson

Group B Winners

Group B- 3rd Place – Mark Tucker, 1st Place – Stephen Dreyfus –
2nd Place David Phelps

Group C Winners

Group C – 2nd Place – David Hutto,  1st Place Thomas Mann –
3rd Place – Ken MacFarlane

Group D Winners

Group D – 1st Place – Lev Goldstein,  2nd Place – Morgan Stewart

Group E Winners Group E – 1st Place – Daniel Magee, 2nd Place – Tanner Wilhoit

A Table Tennis Club for All Ages and Stages